Juvenile Court Cases

How can I obtain information about my juvenile court case?
If you have a Juvenile Superior Court Case you can obtain the status  by calling the Juvenile Division of the Snohomish County Clerk’s Office at 425-388-7978.

 

How can I Seal my Juvenile OFFENDER court record?
Please follow the link provided to review the State Administrative Office of the Courts brochure on eligibility requirements:  A Guide to Sealing and Destroying Court Records, Vacating Convictions, and Deleting Criminal History Records

If you determine that you are eligible to have your Juvenile Offender record sealed, you may purchase an instruction packet online or from the Clerk’s Office, Juvenile Division, located at 2801 10th Street, Everett, WA 98201.  The cost of the packet is $5 (credit, debit, or cash – no personal checks).

How can I Seal my Juvenile DIVERSION record?
Sealing of Diversion records is handled by Superior Court (Juvenile Court).    The Clerk’s Office (Juvenile Division) cannot answer questions regarding Juvenile Diversion records. Please contact Superior Court directly at 425-388-7874.  

How can I find when my next hearing is scheduled for my Juvenile Offender case?
To find out when your next Juvenile Offender hearing is scheduled, please contact the Clerk’s Office, Juvenile Division at (425) 388-7978 or contact Superior Court (Juvenile) Probation Department at (425) 388-7800.

How can I find an attorney who can help me with a Dependency/Termination matter?
To seek assistance in locating an attorney for Dependency/Termination matters, please contact Superior Court (Juvenile) at (425) 388-7953

How do I set or change a TRUANCY hearing? 
To set or change a Truancy hearing, please contact Superior Court (Juvenile) at (425) 388-7800. The Clerk’s Office (Juvenile Division) cannot answer questions regarding setting or changing of these hearings.
   
How do I set or change a CHINS/ARY hearing?
To set or change a CHINS/ARY hearing, please contact Superior Court (Juvenile) at (425) 388-7800. The Clerk’s Office (Juvenile Division) cannot answer questions regarding setting or changing these hearings.

How can I become an Emancipated Minor?
If you are a resident of Washington and are at least 16, but not yet 18, and you want to be legally considered an adult, you can petition the court (Juvenile Court) to become an emancipated minor. 

If after reading an overview of the requirements provided below, and you choose to proceed, you may purchase an instruction packet online or from the Clerk’s Office, Juvenile Division, located at 2801 10th Street, Everett, WA 98201.  The cost of the packet when purchased in the Juvenile Clerk's Office is $10 and the filing fee is $50 (credit, debit, or cash – no personal checks).

Please refer to the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 13.64 for additional information.  Helpful websites and phone numbers: 

Northwest Justice Project:   www.nwjustice.org;
Washington Law Help:         www.washingtonlawhelp.org;
Washington State Bar Association:  www.wsba.org;
CLEAR:  1-888-201-1014;
Snohomish County Bar Association Lawyer Referral - 425-388-3018.

A brief Summary of Emancipation Requirements (refer to RCW 13.64 for details):  The court will emancipate you only if you prove ALL of the following by clear and convincing evidence:

  1. Residency – You are a resident of Washington;
  2. Ability to Handle Financial Affairs - You can manage your own financial affairs;
  3. Ability to Handle Other Affairs – You can manage your own educational, personal, social and any other affairs; and
  4. Denying Emancipation Would Harm You – If your parent, guardian, or custodian opposes your petition, you must also prove that denying emancipation would harm you.
What will change when I’m Emancipated?

  1. Your parents will no longer have to support you.  This means you will have to come up with money and pay for personal needs like clothes, food and rent;
  2. You can be sued in your own name;
  3. You have the right to your own earnings;
  4. You can live in your own home;
  5. You can enter into binding contracts, and will be held to contracts you sign as an adult, including real estate contracts; and
  6. You can give informed consent for all health care services.
  7. Marriage – there are specific rules relating to obtaining a marriage license if you are under the age of 18.  Contact Snohomish County Auditor, Licensing Division, for specific requirements at 425-388-3483 or visit their website: Snohomish County Auditor