Identity Theft

Identity theft occurs when someone steals personal identifying information such as name, birth date, Social Security Number, or  other’s maiden name and uses it for their own gain. Sometimes criminals also use stolen information during an arrest, compromising identity with potential employers, volunteer coordinators, or others who conduct background checks. 

Thefts of personal information can occur in a variety of ways, including lost or stolen credit or debit cards, non-secure online transactions, personal information recovered from your garbage, misuse by friends or family, and, most frequently, stolen mail from your mailbox.

Individuals who have common names may also suffer from compromised identity if another person with a similar name and date of birth has a criminal history record on file.

Reporting Identity Theft

Identity theft is serious. If you think you have been the victim of identity theft call 911 to file a report as soon as possible. While some identity theft victims can resolve their problems quickly, others spend hundreds of dollars and days or weeks - sometimes even years - repairing damage to their name and credit record.

Some identity theft victims may lose out on job opportunities, or be denied loans for education, housing, or cars, because of negative information on their credit reports. In rare cases, they may even be arrested on warrants for crimes they did not commit.

Victims can ask to be entered into the Identity Theft Victim File when contacted by a deputy. Please have the Identity Theft Victim Information and Identity Theft Waiver forms completed before meeting with a deputy. The Identity Theft Victim File serves as a means for law enforcement to “flag” stolen identities and identify the impostor.    

Compromised Identity Claim
Once a police report for identity theft has been filed, victims are eligible to file a Compromised Identity Claim (CIC) with the Washington State Patrol (WSP).

A CIC claimant is issued a letter from WSP with identifying information and verifying that the claimant is not the same person as the other individual on file in the database. It also provides for a wallet card bearing the claimant’s name, service identification (SID), photograph, and thumbprint. Additionally, a notation that personal identification has been submitted to the Identification and Criminal History Section of WSP is provided on a background check. 

Residents of unincorporated Snohomish County may apply for a CIC at the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office. Bring the completed CIC Form, a current 2-inch-by-2-inch passport photo, a check or money order in the amount of $38 made out to WSP to:
Sheriff’s Office
Snohomish County Courthouse, Fourth Floor
3000 Rockefeller Ave.
Everett, WA 98201 

Claimants must appear in person to be fingerprinted. Please be sure to read the instructions thoroughly before completing the CIC form. The Sheriff’s Office will mail all information in to WSP, along with your photo, fingerprints, and $38 fee. 

Payment & Fees
Please bring a check or money order in the amount of $38 made out to Washington State Patrol (WSP).