Human Rights Commission

Now Accepting Nominations 
2021 Human Rights Day Awards

Nominations need to be submitted by 11:59pm, Monday, November 1, 2021
News Flash     Nomination Information     Nomination Form


 2021 World Day for Cultural Diversity and Dialogue Development

2020 Human Rights Day Recognition

The Snohomish County Human Rights Commission honors outstanding community members and organizations annually at our Human Rights Day celebration, which was cancelled in 2020 due to Covid-19 restrictions. The year itself was challenging, with devastation from wildfires, uprisings against racial injustice, and the pandemic’s widespread impact on our collective health and economic security. With great challenges, though, came great opportunities for building community, for connecting with our neighbors, and for living our shared values. In lieu of singling out one organization or individual as the recipient of a 2020 Award, we instead choose to celebrate and acknowledge the tremendous work still being done by our past SCHRC Human Rights Day Awards nominees and recipients with a collective 2020 Honorable Mention Award. Our community—individual members, nonprofit and service organizations, business and community leaders—have rallied to support and encourage each other through the challenges of 2020. We thank each past and present individual and organization for their dedication and commitment to advocating for human rights in our Snohomish County community and world.

Snohomish County Human Rights Commission Statement on January 6th Attack on Democracy

Thursday, September 2, 2021 
Zoom  6:00PM-8:00PM 
Zoom Link 

Meeting ID: 916 8582 2678

Passcode: 527642

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

Join by SIP

Join by H.323 (US West)

Regular Meetings
  • Meetings: 1st Thursday of the month, at least once a Quarter 
  • 6:00PM-8:00PM 
  • Zoom until further notice due to Governor's Guidelines 
  • 3000 Rockefeller Avenue
  • Everett, WA 98201
Stand Up for Someone’s Rights Today

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

Commission News

​​2018 Annual Report

​Commission Events

May 2021, World Day of Cultural Diversity for Dialogue and Development presented by Edmonds Community College; Equity and Inclusion Department

Dec. 2021, International Human Rights Day

Community Events



Member County Council District
Noah Rui District 1 - Term expires 7/1/2021
Demi Chatters District 2 - Term expires 7/1/2022
Carin Chase  District 3 - Term expires 7/1/2023
Nomination Pending
District 4 - Term expires 7/1/2023
Carolyn Bennett - 

District 5 - Term expires 7/1/2022
Dr. Gloria Ngezaho - 
Vice Chair
County Executive Representative - Term expires 7/1/2021
VACANT 1/2020
Law Enforcement Representative -Term expires 7/1/2022
Courtney Wooten -  Commission Chair General Position 1  - Term expires 7/1/2021
VACANT 11/2019
Nomination Pending
General Position 2 - Term expires 7/1/2023

About the Commission

The Snohomish County Human Rights Commission (SCHRC) serves as an advisory body to the County Executive, County Council, Washington State Human Rights Commission, and other county officers and agencies in matters concerning human rights.

The Commission consists of nine members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation. See Snohomish County Code Chapter 2.460 and from that page, search for 2.460.020. Bylaws

Liaison Contact: 
Contact via email: (Preferred) or Karen Anderson at 425-388-3460.

Click here for information on joining the SCHRC.

October 2021

26 27 28 29 30 01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 01 02 03 04 05 06
  1. Thu Nov. 11

  2. Thu Nov. 25

  3. Fri Nov. 26

  4. Fri Dec. 24

View More