Register as a Process Server

State law (RCW 18.180.010) requires that any person who serves legal process for a fee in Washington State register with the County Auditor.

Process servers in Washington State must be 18 years old or older and a resident of Washington State.


  1. Complete the process server registration form (PDF)

  2. Submit completed form and $10 registration fee:

By mail

Submit completed form with exact fee to:

Snohomish County Auditor's Office – Recording Division

3000 Rockefeller Ave M/S 204

Everett, WA 98201

Payment methods accepted: Check, money order, or cashier's check payable to Snohomish County Auditor.


Registration exceptions

The following people are not required to register as a process server:

  • A sheriff, deputy sheriff, marshal, constable or government employee who is acting in the course of employment
  • An attorney or an attorney's employees who are not serving process on a fee basis
  • A person who is court appointed to serve the court's process
  • A person who does not receive a fee or wage for serving process
  • A private investigator licensed under RCW 18.165