Charter Review Commission

Attention - On June 29, 2016, the Charter Review Commission voted to submit the following proposition to the November 2016 ballot

Agenda (PDF)

Proposition 1 - Commission on Human Rights (PDF)

Proposition 2 - Public Advocate (PDF)

Proposition 3 - Nondiscrimination (PDF)

Proposition 4 - Hearing Examiner Appeals (PDF)

Proposition 5 - Council Meetings (PDF)

Proposition 6 - Appointment and Confirmation (PDF)

Proposition 7 - Redistricting (PDF)

More info

The Washington State Constitution grants counties the option of adopting a Home Rule Charter for their own form of government. Snohomish County is one of seven charter counties in Washington State. The Snohomish County Charter was adopted in 1980 and amended in 1986, and every ten years after that.

In the November, 2015 General Election, the voters of Snohomish County elected a Charter Review Commission that is composed of fifteen members, three from each Council District, chosen in the general election and that is tasked to:

  • Review the Snohomish County Charter
  • Determine the Snohomish County Charter adequacy and suitability to the needs of the county
  • Review the existing structure of county government
  • Evaluate possible changes to the Snohomish County Charter
  • Seek to enhance government efficiency
  • Provide a forum for public input (See Public Involvement, below)

The Commission may propose amendments to the charter; study and make recommendations regarding charter provisions that are in conflict with current state law, do not reflect current practices, or are outdated and obsolete; make recommendations to the County Council; and publish its findings.

The Charter Review Commission members serve an unpaid one-year term beginning January 1, 2016, and will undertake the task of proposing amendments to the county’s Home Rule Charter.

Final recommendations will be transmitted to the Snohomish County Council and then submitted to the County Auditor by August 2, 2016 to be placed on the November, 2016 General Election Ballot.


District 1 (map (PDF))

  • John Koster
  • Raymond (Ray) Miller, Second Vice-Chair
  • Jim Donner

District 2 (map (PDF))

  • Dan Matthews
  • Jennifer Gregerson, Chair
  • Shawn O'Donnell

District 3 (map (PDF))

  • Natalia Fior
  • Carin Chase
  • Marko Liias

District 4 (map (PDF))

  • Edward (Ed) J. Barton
  • Cheryl Stanford
  • Bob Terwilliger, First Vice-Chair

District 5 (map (PDF))

  • Kristin Kelly
  • Douglas R. Roulstone
  • Wendy Valentine

Public Involvement

The Snohomish County Charter Review Commission welcomes comments from the public. Commissioners can be contacted individually or as a group through the Snohomish County Council Office. In addition, all regularly scheduled and special commission meetings are open to the public. Time is scheduled during each regularly scheduled meeting to accept public comments. Comment on a proposed change to the Charter.

Map of all Districts

Snohomish County Council Districts (JPG)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View All Current Agendas and minutes

Current Charter

Expand the link on the left side of the page to see all 11 articles of the Charter

View the Charter in force today.