View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

Sheriff’s Office Honors 2014 Award Recipients

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 17, 2015

CONTACT: Shari Ireton, Director of Communications, Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office, 425-388-3377, Media line: 425-249-6263

EVERETT, WASH. – The Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office will recognize more than 40 employees and volunteers tonight for the agency’s annual awards ceremony.  This year’s ceremony will include a special tribute to those who responded in extraordinary ways to the tragic SR530 Slide that occurred March 22, 2014, killing 43 Snohomish County residents.

“2014 was a year of many changes and challenges and I’m honored to recognize the staff and volunteers who went above and beyond in so many ways,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary.  Deputies and officers will be recognized for responding to the more notable of the 257,000 calls for service the agency received last year, including calls where lives were saved and communities made safer. Several corrections employees will also receive awards in recognition of their work in implementing changes that have made the jail a safer place for staff and inmates.

The Tribute to Oso will recognize the work of several Sheriff’s Office personnel and volunteers, including the Major Crimes Unit in completing a reliable list of the missing and, in collaboration with the Snohomish County Medical Examiner’s Office, identifying all 43 victims recovered in the slide.  The work of the urban search and rescue team, Washington Task Force 1, as well the equipment operators and excavators, will also be recognized.

“Those in our agency who responded to the Slide and Marysville Pilchuck High School shooting were deeply affected and humbled by the community support we received,” said Sheriff Trenary. 

For details about each award and recipient, please contact the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office Director of Communications. 

The following is the full list of award recipients:

Letter of Commendation

  • Jason M. Thomas
  • Sandra Klein
  • Deputy Judith Saarinen
  • Detective Michael Martin
  • BSO Pamela Kavanagh and BSO John Crowe
  • Deputy Jon Barnett
  • Deputy Jim Atwood, Deputy Jason Harris, Deputy Randall Murphy, MPD Matt Calnon, Deputy Chris Marino, Deputy Will Ter-Veen, Deputy Don Lorenz, Deputy Chris Leyda, and Sergeant Adam Fortney
  • Emily Beaton

Certificate of Merit

  • Lieutenant Monte Beaton
  • David Oster and Joyce Diedrichs
  • Leon Zainwel and Ed DaPra
  • Rebecca Koontz
  • Lieutenant Todd Swenson

Life Saving Medal

  • Corrections Deputy Craig Ottulich
  • Corrections Deputies Robert Butchart and Rick Fenton
  • Deputy Carl Whalen
  • Master Patrol Deputy Daniel Johnson
  • Detective Jeff Ross, Chief Tony Aston, Detective Tedd Betts, and Marshal Kathy Marino
  • Sergeant Dan Young and Corrections Deputy Clinton Billen
  • Deputy Ryan Boyer, Deputy Jon Barnett, and Oscar Kelly

Oso Slide Tribute

The following will receive a Certificate of Merit for exemplary performance of their duties:

  • Detective Terry Haldeman
  • The Helicopter Rescue Team and Air Operations Support represented by Ernie Zeller
  • Washington Task Force 1 represented by Lt. Cindy Fajardo, Pierce County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Aaron Snell, Everett Police Department
  • Major Crimes Unit represented by Sergeant Shawn Stich, Detective Brad Walvatne, Detective Scott Wells, Detective Brad Pince, and Detective Dave Fontenot
  • The Snohomish County Medical Examiner's Office represented by Investigator Carlos Colon
  • K9 Search and Rescue represented by Seth Stone and Sable
  • Search and Rescue Swiftwater represented by Josh Warren
  • Operations Support Unit represented by Heidi McKeon
  • The Excavators represented by Rhonda Cook

Explorer of the Year

  • Explorer Robert Pasemore

Reserve Deputy of the Year

  • Reserve Deputy Pennie Sargent

Volunteer of the Year

  • Volunteer Karl Myers

Civilian Employee of the Year

  • Corrections Assistant Michel Swenson

Corrections Deputy of the Year

  • Corrections Deputy Lance Kenyon

Patrol Deputy of the Year

  • Deputy Glen Bergstrom

Detective of the Year

  • Detective Peter Teske

Supervisor of the Year

  • Major Jamie Kane