View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

Sheriff’s Office to Present Awards to Employees, Volunteers, and Citizens at Annual Ceremony

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 17, 2016

CONTACT: Shari Ireton, Director of Communications,
Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office, 425-388-3377, Media line: 425-249-6263

EVERETT, Wash. – From a deputy rescuing a man and his dog from a burning house in Darrington to a Granite Falls High School student who donated more than 87 hours of her own time to Snohomish County Volunteer Search and Rescue, the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office will recognize more than 60 employees, volunteers and citizens at its annual awards ceremony tomorrow.

“Every year, it is an honor to take a moment and acknowledge the amazing work and service performed by our employees,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary.  “It is also humbling to recognize heroic acts of our volunteers and members of the community we serve.”

The following awards will be presented:

Sheriff’s Award

Detectives Glenn DeWitt and Margaret Ludwig – for their work on the North County Property Crimes Unit

Sgt. John Taylor Supervisor of the Year

Sgt. Dave Sorenson

Patrol Deputy of the Year

Deputy Troy Koster

Corrections Deputy of the Year

Corrections Deputy Ken Anstett

Deputy Joe Ward Detective of the Year

Detective Brad Walvatne

Civilian Employee of the Year

Mary Noland

Clarence Robertson Reserve Deputy of the Year

Reserve Deputy Kurt McGowan

Volunteer of the Year

Fred Mack

Explorer of the Year

Explorer Charles Southward

Life Saving Medal

  • Deputy Jacob Navarro – two medals: one for stopping a suicidal man from jumping to his death on I-5 and the other for reviving a man found unconscious and unresponsive at a park
  • Deputy Mark Bond – for reviving a man who had overdosed on heroin
  • Corrections Sgt. Dan Young, Corrections Deputy Greg Barnett and Corrections Deputy Michael Abbitt  - for saving the life of an inmate who had a seizure
  • Sgt. Danny Wikstrom, Joseph Edmark, John Moore and Dr. Dan Weakly – for saving the life of a Search and Rescue Volunteer who had a heart attack during a rescue mission
  • Deputy Johnathan Krajcar – who pulled a man and his dog from a burning house in Darrington

Citizen Medal of Valor

  • Flight Medic Richard Duncan – for placing himself between a falling boulder and a search and rescue victim during a rescue mission
  • Yana Radenska, Everett Mountain Rescue – for her expertise and handling of a complex rescue mission

Certificate of Merit

  • Technical Support Specialist Catherine Dooley – for her work to make the launch of New World Systems successful
  • Kelly Shaver, SNOPAC – for sending backup to a deputy who was being assaulted during a DUI stop
  • Law Enforcement Technicians Debbie Jones, Julie Tinsely and Gayle Wilkerson Tiller – for their assistance and staying calm during a weekend break-in at the County Courthouse
  • Deputy Brandon McCullar, Deputy Bryan Brittingham, Deputy Dan Dusevoir, Deputy Chris Marino, Deputy Bryson McGee and Deputy Tim Leo – for rendering aid to a woman stabbed by her grandson and for apprehending him
  • Corrections Deputies Andrew Clawson, Joshua Fox, Brittani Gilfeather, Patricia Thomas, Erik Wold and Corrections Sergeant Matthew Mattson – for helping local law enforcement fight crime
  • Deputy Randy Murphy, Deputy Bryan Brittingham, Deputy Dan Dusevoir, Deputy Chris Marino, Deputy Bill Binkley and Sgt. Adam Fortney – for their work on shutting down a problem house

Letter of Commendation

  • Bret Benzion, Granite Falls Middle School
  • Booking Support Officer Pam Kavanagh
  • Chief Pilot Bill Quistorf
  • Deputy Tom Dalton and Kai Bowers (Fire Protection District #23)
  • Corrections Deputy John Reid
  • Corrections Deputy James Norris
  • Corrections Deputy Stuart Nicholas
  • Deputy Arthur Wallin
  • Deputy Scott Stich
  • Josh Truax and Joel Diaz, Snohomish County Facilities
  • Search and Rescue Explorer Emma Loney
  • Sgt. Ian Edwards
  • Deputy Bryan Brittingham
  • Jesse Calliham, Law Enforcement Embedded Social Worker
  • Sgt. Ian Huri