View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

Sheriff’s Office to Present Awards to Employees, Volunteers, and Citizens at Annual Ceremony

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 15, 2017

CONTACT: Shari Ireton, Director of Communications, 
Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office, 425-388-3377, Media line: 425-249-6263


EVERETT, Wash. – From a deputy delivering baby on a Snohomish roadway to an Everett man who tackled a criminal suspect as he was scaling a fence to escape deputies, the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office will recognize more than 80 employees, volunteers and citizens at its annual awards ceremony tomorrow.

“Our agency motto is ‘Community First’ and these awards highlight the amazing work and extraordinary acts our employees, volunteers and members of our community performed that exemplifies this commitment,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary. 

The following awards will be presented:

Sheriff's Award

Purple Heart

Corrections Deputy Samuel Chen

Citizen Medal of Valor

  • Darrell Fortin – for tackling and restraining a combative subject during a difficult arrest
  • Nicholas Ulacia – for his selfless act of extraordinary bravery and assistance to Sheriff’s deputies during the arrest of a combative subject, performed at the risk of his own safety

Distinguished Service Medal

  • Deputy Evan Twedt, Deputy David Bennett - for effectively securing a dangerous suspect, for courageous performance in the face of danger
  • Sgt. Jess Sanders, Deputy Tracy Peckhamdisplaying extreme courage, and for taking immediate action which resulted in the safe and successful evacuation of residents from a burning building

Meritorious Service Medal

  • Sgt. Daniel Johnson, Deputy Ian Whipple, Deputy Chris Veentjer, Gene Bishop (Motel 6 Manager) - for distinguishing themselves with an act of kindness and compassion for their fellow man, and for collaborating to find a hot meal and safe place for a homeless, disabled man to stay on Christmas
  • Sgt. Marcus Dill - for efforts that went far above and beyond normal duties as a deputy sheriff, for his work ethic, and for his initiative to ensure that a dangerous criminal was put behind bars
  • Deputy Ryan Phillips
  • Deputy US Marshal Rob Gerg -  for facilitating a successful partnership between Snohomish County law enforcement and the US Marshals Service leading to the capture of almost a thousand dangerous felons to be brought to justice for the violent and predatory crimes they’ve committed

Sgt. John Taylor Supervisor of the Year

Sgt. Ian Edwards

Patrol Deputy of the Year

Deputy Mathew Boice

Corrections Deputy of the Year

Corrections Deputy Brittani Gilfeather

Deputy Joe Ward Detective of the Year

Detective Nicole Richardson

Civilian Employee of the Year

Law Enforcement Technician Susan Martinez

Clarence Robertson Reserve Deputy of the Year

Reserve Deputy Craig O’Neill

Volunteer of the Year

Judy and Jack Odell

Explorer of the Year

Explorer Tanner Hedlund


Life Saving Medals & Awards

  • Corrections Deputy Pavel Ryakhovskiy
  • Corrections Deputy Benny Walters
  • Deputy Nathan Smith
  • Deputy Brandon Liukko and Deputy Nathan Smith
  • Deputy Keith Poteet – for the roadside delivery of baby Case, who was born not breathing
  • Beau Ramsey, Anne Cherise Jensen, Pilot-in-Command Deputy Steve Klett, Pilot Fire Chief Travis Hots, Crew Chief SAR Volunteer Randy Fay, Flight Medic Firefighter Richard Duncan, Flight Medic Firefighter Tori McCormick – for saving a hiker who fell on Mt. Pilchuck
  • Sgt. Danny Wikstrom, Pilot-in-Command Deputy Bill Quistorf, Pilot Travis Hots, Rescue Technician Ernie Zeller, Flight Medic Richard Duncan – for saving a hiker with life threatening injuries
  • Deputy Jeffrey Howerton
  • Sgt. Tom Morris
  • Michael Holmes – for coming to the aid of a total stranger in distress and in need of help and for rendering aid that no doubt saved a woman’s life
  • Deputy Arthur Wallin (Life Saving Medal) and Deputy Dean Peckham, Deputy Chad Daugherty, Deputy Stephen Foote, Deputy Charles Pendergrass, and Deputy Phillip James (Letters of Commendation) – for their response to the July 30th Mukilteo shooting
  • Para-educator Bradley Hill, Para-educator David Harris, Ms. Tracy Dostert (Lynnwood High School) - for saving the life of a high school student 

Certificate of Merit

Letter of Commendation
  • LET Cheri King
  • LETs Debbie Jones, Gayle Wilkerson-Tiller, Patricia Bornheimer
  • LET Terri Funston
  • Lead LET Nancy Elmore
  • Lead LET Marisa Nishimura
  • Transport Coordinator Jane Wolford
  • Sgt. Matthew Mattson, Control Room Operators Mary Burrows-Smith, Elizabeth Pollack, and Mishelle McPhail
  • Deputy Chris Marino, Deputy Art Wallin
  • Detective Eric Fagan
  • Deputy Andy Mosalsky
  • Cassondra Dailey, Vanessa Brewer (Everett Police Department)
  • Sgt. Vince Linnell, Master Patrol Deputy Daniel Johnson, Deputy Mark Stich, Deputy Troy Koster, Deputy Jared Reid, Deputy Tim Leo, Deputy Nathan Alanis
Citizen Commendation
  • Deputy James Gibson, Deputy Josh Hostetter, Deputy Matthew Calnon, Deputy Ryan Boyer, Deputy Bryan Martin
  • Deputy Nick Giralmo
  • Sgt. David Casey

Citizen Commendation