View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

Sheriff’s Office Presents 2017 Awards


CONTACT: Shari Ireton, Director of Communications, Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office, 425-388-3377, Media line: 425-249-6263

EVERETT, Wash. – From awarding a Medal of Valor to a civilian who held down a violent suspect during an arrest to presenting Purple Heart medals to two corrections deputies severely injured after being attacked by an inmate, the Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office will recognize 200 employees, volunteers and citizens at its annual awards ceremony tonight.

“As I look over the list of awards being presented tonight, I’m reminded that it’s not what we do, but who we are that defines the Sheriff’s Office,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary. “I’m honored to share the stage tonight with these award recipients.”

The following awards for 2017 will be presented:

Sheriff's Award

  • Sgt. Danny Wikstrom - who retires tomorrow, marking exactly 35 years of dedicated leadership, hard work and the lasting impact he has on our community
  • Alana Nawa’a  - for her commitment to the Sheriff’s Office, extraordinary work ethic, and her integrity

Purple Heart and Distinguished Service Medal

  • Corrections Deputy Colby Evans - for coming to the aid of an injured colleague even after suffering grievous injuries of his own

Purple Heart and Life Saving Medal

  • Corrections Deputy Bernard DeGuzman  – for suffering injuries in the line of duty and risking his own personal safety to come to save the life of his partner

Citizen Medal of Valor

  • Thomas Lakey – for restraining a combative subject during a difficult arrest
  • Explorer Emma Smith  – for pushing a citizen out of the way of an oncoming drunk driver and receiving injuries herself after being struck by the vehicle

Sgt. John Taylor Supervisor of the Year

Sgt. Shawn Stich - for more than 31 years of dedication and outstanding leadership to the citizens of Snohomish County

Patrol Deputy of the Year

Deputy Craig Hess

Corrections Deputy of the Year

Corrections Deputy Shari Sigh

Deputy Joe Ward Detective of the Year

Detective Steve Martin

Civilian Employee of the Year

Lead Inmate Accounts Technician Michel Swenson

Clarence Robertson Reserve Deputy of the Year

Reserve Deputy Pennie Sargent

Volunteer of the Year

Lisa Freiss

Explorer of the Year

Explorer Connor Telford

Life Saving Medals & Awards

  • Krisan Fryberg, Brooklyn Costa, Kyle Mosley - for their bravery, courage, and for risking their own safety to save the life of a 16 year-old girl at Twin Rivers County Park last summer
  • Ryan and Courtney Duncan – for saving a suicidal male from jumping off an overpass onto I-5
  • Deputy Matt Boice
  • Deputy Matthew Eichelberger, Deputy Jacob Navarro, Deputy Kevin Pelleboer
  • Deputy Jason Harris
  • Lt. Harry Parker
  • Sgt. John Q. Adams, Everett Mountain Rescue (Team Leader Matt Hoffman, Joe Parker, Cassie Edmark, Miles Mcdonough, Donnie Pingrey, Pam Spier, Elaina Jorgenson, Dan Labovitch), and Everett Mountaineers (Jenni Schwegler, Jian Fang) – Sloan Peak rescue mission
  • Chief Pilot Deputy Bill Quistorf, Crew Chief Paul Moutray, Deputy Steve Klett, Helo Rescue Technician Andy Toyota, Flight Medic Richard Duncan, Cascade Medical Center Paramedic Brayden Kirk, Chelan County Fire Dist. #3 Firefighter Alex Roberts – Snow Creek Wall rescue mission
  • Pilot-In-Command Deputy Steve Klett, Pilot Travis Hots, Crew Chief/SAR Volunteer Paul Moutray, Helicopter Rescue Tech Chris Moriarty, and Flight Medic Tom Deckers – Wallace Falls State Park rescue mission

Certificate of Merit

  • Corrections Deputy Stuart Nicholas
  • Corrections Deputies Cody Armstrong, Brandon Gloor, Clayton Rennie, Brittani Gilfeather, Scott Warnken, Shaun Murray, Samuel Leslie, Erik Wold, Sergeant Russell Jutte, Sergeant Patricia Thomas, Sergeant Matthew Mattson and Lieutenant Mark Simonson
  • Corrections Deputy James Norris
  • Corrections Deputy Clayton Rennie
  • Corrections Deputy Michael Starmer
  • Sgt. Matthew Mattson
  • Sgt. Russell Jutte
  • Josh Gutierrez, Greg Rasmussen, Chuck Newcomb
  • Bureau Chief Joanie Fadden, Business Analyst Anne Lord, Business Analyst Leon Zainwel, Lt. Todd Swenson, Lt. David Bowman, Sgt. Leslie Vander Wel, Sgt. Sndy Cervarich, Fiscal Analyst Pauline Sanders, Accounting Technician Wanyi Mai
  • RiverJunky Conservation & Jarrod Kirkley
  • Deputy Doug Saint-Denis
  • Deputy Joshua Hostetter
  • Detective Rich Emmons
  • Deputy Marty Weinbaum, Deputy John Kuska
  • Deputy Kore Oyetuga
  • Sgt. John Adams, Deputy Kevin Lynch
  • Sgt. Clint Korhonen
  • Deputy Cody McCoy, Deputy Chad Daugherty, Deputy Arthur Wallin
  • Sgt. David Casey, Deputy Stephen Foote, Deputy Jeff Howerton
  • Sgt. David Casey, MPD Carl Whalen and Deputies Stuart Gort, Ron Doersch, Cameron Elwell, Daniel Uhrich, and Kevin Pelleboer
  • Sgt. Jeff Ross, Deputy Jeff Howerton, Deputy Rick Griner, Deputy Steve Gray, Deputy Steve Foote, Deputy Ian Whipple, Deputy Joshua Wheeler, Deputy Andre Loranc, Monroe PD K9 Officer Jason Southard, Monroe Officer Travis Block, Monroe Officer Paul Hendersen, Monroe Officer Joe Stark, Monroe Officer Craig Robertson, WSP Trooper Glahn, WSP Trooper Bacheller, Everett Police Officer Quemada

Letter of Commendation

  • LET Julie Tinsley
  • Receptionist Clairica Herrera
  • Civil Unit: Kathryn Oliver, Dana Tappendorf, Tina Murphy, Emily Baumbach, Susan Conard
  • Records Unit: Karen Carlson, Gwen Galyath, Tugba Haklidir, Clairica Herrera, Ashley James, Gary Jones, Barbara Mannhalter, Susan Martinez, Les Mommsen, Gayle Reschke, Laura Ricciardi, Nicholas Ulbrickson, Brenda Gibbs, and Nancy Elmore
  • Public Disclosure Unit: Chris Braden, Patty Bornheimer, Gayle Wilkerson-Tiller, Debbie Jones
  • Public Disclosure Unit Supervisor Jessica Payne
  • Bureau Chief Tony Aston
  • Corrections Deputy Glenn Blankenship, Corrections Deputy John Brown, Corrections Deputy Alonzo Downing, Corrections Deputy Didy Kane, Corrections Deputy
  • Corrections Deputy Daniel Penney, Corrections Deputy Curtis Fairfax, Corrections Deputy Brad Curtis, Corrections Deputy William Hart, Corrections Deputy Clinton Billen, Corrections Deputy Wendy Cerfus, Nurse Hussein Remtulla
  • Corrections Deputy Shaun Murray
  • Corrections Deputy Chicara Chesney
  • Sgt. Becky Lewis, Sgt. Marty Zelaya, Detective Mike Hawthorne
  • Deputy Scott Wells
  • Deputy Bryan Martin and Deputy Joshua Hostetter
  • Deputy Brandon Charboneau
  • Deputy John Krajcar
  • Deputy Lucas Robinson
  • Sgt. David Sorenson
  • Deputy Tom Dalton
  • Deputy Jason Moe
  • Deputies Chad Gwordske, Jeff Miner and Myles Bittinger
  • Deputy Jeff Miner

Citizen Commendation

Deputy Chris Simpson