View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

Sheriff’s Office Announces 2018 Award Recipients

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 19, 2019

CONTACT: Shari Ireton, Director of Communications, Snohomish County Sheriff’s, 425-388-3377, Media line: 425-249-6263

EVERETT, Wash. – The Snohomish County Sheriff’s Office proudly announces the list of 2018 award recipients, which includes employees, volunteers and citizens. The awards will be presented over the next few months at roll call, community meetings and other events in lieu of the annual awards ceremony, which was cancelled due to inclement weather.

“I’m proud to honor Sheriff’s Office employees, our citizens and volunteers for their outstanding work and heroic acts,” said Sheriff Ty Trenary. “Snohomish County is fortunate to have these men and women who go above and beyond to keep our communities safe.”

The following awards for 2018 will be presented:

Sheriff’s Award – Rebecca Koontz

Sheriff’s Award – Snohomish County Violent Offender Task Force

Distinguished Service Medal - Deputy Lucas Robinson

Meritorious Service Medal - Deputy James Kunard, Deputy Tyler Pendergrass, Deputy Jon Barnett, Deputy Tim Leo, DOC Officer Scott Lee, Sgt. David Crandall

Certificates of Merit - Deputy Jason Moe and Sgt. Marcus Dill

Citizen Medal of Valor - Donna Irby

Sgt. John Taylor Supervisor of the Year - Sgt. Roxanne Marler

Deputy Joe Ward Detective of the Year - Detective David Fontenot

Deputy of the Year - Deputy Mike Wilson

Corrections Deputy of the Year - Corrections Deputy Erik Wold

Civilian Employee of the Year - Courtney O'Keefe

Clarence Robertson Reserve Deputy of the Year - Reserve Deputy Craig O'Neill

Volunteer of the Year - Chaplain Alice Anderson

Explorer of the Year - Explorer Thomas Thorne

Life Saving Medals & Awards

  • MPD Zac Brown, Deputy Matt Boice, Deputy Evan Twedt
  • Deputy Joseph Odom, Jessica Olson and Thomas Parmeter
  • Corrections Deputy Todd Munson, Corrections Deputy John Gross, Corrections Deputy John “Craig” McIntyre, Corrections Deputy Cheryl Cooper and Sgt. Russell Jutte
  • Crew Chief Paul Moutray, Rescue Technician Dave Zulinke and Flight Medic Alex Jenness
  • Crew Chief Randy Fay, Medic Richard Duncan, Rescue Technicians Andy Toyota and Ernie Zeller
  • Deputy Brandon Charboneau
  • Corrections Deputy Elias Chavez, Corrections Deputy Scott Warnken, Corrections Deputy Shaun Murray, Corrections Deputy John “Craig” McIntyre, Corrections Deputy Susan Freeman, Corrections Deputy Kyle Younger, Nurse Dawn Young, Nurse Debbie Meader, Nurse Gabriel Delamerced, Nurse Autumn Kostelecky, and Nurse Joyce Marrero
  • Deputy Jeff Miner, Deputy Matt Eichelberger and Deputy Zach DeVenney
  • Nancy Abell

Certificates of Merit

  • Air Force 304th Rescue Squadron
  • Health Services Administrator Alta Langdon
  • Detective Tedd Betts
  • SCVSAR Volunteer Edwin Prada
  • SCVSAR Volunteer Bob Brady and SCVSAR Volunteer Dietrich Biemiller
  • Sgt. Jess Geoghagan, Detective Chris Simpson and Crime Analyst Sandy Perez
  • Corrections Deputy Bernard DeGuzman
  • Corrections Deputy Jean Moormeier
  • Deputy Evan Twedt
  • Deputy John Sadro
  • Deputy Kevin Pelleboer
  • Deputy Nathan Smith, Deputy Matt Boice and Deputy Evan Twedt
  • Svein Torvik

Letters of Commendation

  • Booking Support Officer Veronica Sepulveda
  • Booking Support Officer Jodi Martin
  • Chief Chad Schmidt and Captain Brandon Bates of Snohomish County Rural Fire District 21
  • Deputy Even Twedt, Deputy Art Wallin and Deputy Chad Daugherty
  • Deputy Jason Sandt and Deputy Nathan Smith
  • Deputy Jonathan Krajcar, Deputy Molly Thunder, Deputy Patrick McGrath and Deputy Blake Iverson
  • Sgt. Alonzo Downing
  • Sgt. Joan Gwordske
  • Sgt. Roxanne Marler
  • Corrections Deputy James Norris and Sgt. Matthew Mattson
  • Deputy Patrick McGrath
  • Deputy Patrick McGrath, Deputy Gabriel Cimino, Deputy Blake Iverson, Deputy Tyler Pendergrass, Deputy Joe Davis and Sgt. Joan Gwordske
  • Detective James Headrick and Detective Tyler Quick
  • LET Jon Stewart
  • Volunteer Marilyn Clark

Every year, the Sheriff’s Office publicly recognizes extraordinary, exceptionally meritorious or conspicuously outstanding acts of heroism and other acts which are above and beyond those normally expected.