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General Information  

Q: What does the County Assessor do? 

A:  Washington State law requires Assessors to appraise 
property at 100 percent of its “true and fair market value” in 
money according to the “highest and best use” of the property. 
The Assessor also sets the levy rates based on taxing district 
budget requests, statutory limits and property values.  NOTE: 
Each January the Assessor mails out Personal Property 
Listing forms, which are due April 30th. Listings may also be 
E-Filed.  E-File, assessed value history and tax history are 
available on our website at 

https://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Assessor. 
 

Personal Property Tax Exemptions 

Q: What exemptions are available for 
business owners and personal property?  

 

A:  Washington State provides the following exemptions 
for personal property tax: 
 

 Head of Family Exemption:  $15,000 of assessed 
value for persons who qualify as Head of Family and 
complete the Head of Family Exemption on their timely 
filed Personal Property Listing Form (only one 
exemption per person statewide per year). To qualify 
the business must be a sole proprietor or sole 
beneficiary of a Trust.  LLCs, Partnerships and 
Corporations do not qualify. 

 Licensed vehicles: designed for regular public road 
use, that are actually used for transportation on public 
roads. 

 Intangible property: (goodwill, trademarks, patents, 
copyrights, etc.) 

 Farm Machinery & Equipment Exemption: 
Qualifying farm machinery & equipment (timely 
completion and filing of Farm Exemption with the 
Personal Property Listing form is required). 

 Custom software: designed exclusively for the 
taxpayer. 

 Heavy Equipment Rental Property: A property tax 
exemption for heavy equipment rental property owned 
by a heavy equipment rental dealer. 

Contact the Assessor's Office 

Please contact us at 425-388-3433 or email us at 
Contact.assessor@Snoco.org for general information on 
exemption programs, filing destroyed property claims or 
information on special classifications. For personal property 
questions, see below. 

Contact the Assessor's Personal Property Department 

Q: Who should I contact for more information about filing 
Personal Property Listings or its assessed value? 

A: If you have questions regarding filing your personal property 
or disagree with the assessed value, please call our Personal 
Property Appraisal Department at 425-388-3656 or email 
contact.personalproperty@snoco.org.  Staff will be glad to 
answer your questions and examine the valuation of the 
personal property. 

Appealing your Assessed Value to the Board of 
Equalization 

Q: Can I appeal my assessed value? 

A: Yes.  If you do not agree with the value set by the Assessor, 
you can file a petition for a hearing before the Snohomish 
County Board of Equalization (BOE). The petition must be filed 
with the BOE within 60 days of when the value notice was 
mailed or by July 1st whichever is later.  The appeal process 
does not require an attorney, but you will need to present 
evidence that the Assessor’s value is incorrect.  Appeal forms 
are available from the Clerk of the Board at 425-388-3407 or 
https://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/43529 

Q: Can I appeal the amount of taxes I will pay or the 
percentage that my assessment increased or decreased? 

A:  No. The Board of Equalization cannot consider appeals on 
this basis. If you have concerns over the amount of taxes you 
are paying, you need to take them up with the taxing district 
officials who determine the budgets for their districts. You can 
also work for efficiency in government by attending budget 
hearings and calling or writing the taxing authorities with your 
concerns and ideas.  Please refer to your local phonebook for 
contact names and numbers of each taxing district. 

 

 

Important information is continued on reverse 
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How will this new value affect my taxes? 

Q: How much will my taxes increase or decrease in 2022? 

A:  Information on how much you will pay in property taxes next 
year won’t be available until the taxing districts adopt their 
budgets at the end of this year and any voter approved taxes 
are added or dropped in 2021. In early 2022 levy rates will be 
calculated, and tax statements will be available. New tax 
amounts are usually available from the County Treasurer’s 
office in mid-February of each year. Please visit us at: 

https://snohomishcountywa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/50131 

for detailed information regarding tax distributions. 
 

Q: What percentage of my taxes are voter approved? 

A:  This year the typical amount of voter approved taxes 
was 39% 

This year, 9 of 20 ballot measures were approved by voters.  
Your assessed value determines your share of the taxes to be 
collected which are: voter approved taxes plus the amount 
levied each year by each individual taxing district allowed by 
law without going to a vote of the people. 
 
Q:  How are my taxes calculated? 

A: Property taxes in WA State are budget based. 

Each individual taxing district, such as cities, county, schools, 
fire, library, ports, etc., decides how much money to levy or 
budget each year for their regular levies, voter approved levies 
or both. 

Regular levies are limited to a 1% increase annually without 
going to a vote of the people. There are several different limits 
on how levies can increase. 

For detailed information on levies view our levy presentation at:  

 https://www.snohomishcountywa.gov/Levy 

Your share of the tax is determined by a simple formula: 

 Taxes to be collected for the district divided by the total 
assessed value of a district times 1000 = the levy rate. 

 The levy rate times the assessed value divided by 1000 = 
the taxes owed. 

Q: When will my 2021 personal property equipment 
changes affect my assessed value and taxes? 

A:  Changes (such as disposals or the addition of assets) 
that occur in 2020 will be used to set the Jan. 1st, 2021 
assessments which will be used to calculate taxes due in 
2022. 

WA State law requires assessors to assess property according 
to the property tax calendar. This law applies whether markets 
are increasing or decreasing. The following calendar of events 
helps explain this lag: 

 New assessment notices will be mailed in September 2021 
after revaluation & new construction are done. 

 After notices are mailed, property owners have 60 days to 
appeal their value with the Board of Equalization. 

 Taxing districts receive their certified assessed values in 
October and set their budgets in Nov. or Dec. 2021. They 
may or may not also ask voters to approve ballot measures 
in 2021 that will affect taxes due in 2022. 

 Levies are calculated in Jan. 2022 using the Jan. 1st, 2021 
certified assessed values for revaluation and the July 31st, 
2021 certified values for new construction. Tax statements 
will be mailed by the Treasurer in Feb. 2022 for taxes due 
in April and October 2022. 
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Property Taxes Total: $1,493,296,823

IMPORTANT: Please read the back side of the Assessor's Personal Property Assessment 
Notice for additional information. 


